21-Day Fix – Background Information

OK, here’s what I know so far about the 21-Day Fix that I am embarking on.  It comes with cute little color-coded containers to measure out your food.  The End.  So, I will be learning along with you as you learn from me….ha ha.  You get containers colored green, purple, red, yellow, blue and orange.  Based on your weight (and their little formula) you calculate how many calories you can have per day and that calorie count tells you how many of each container you are permitted. So, according to the 21-Day Fix guidelines I am to have 2300 calories per day and those calories are to be divided up as follows:

The Green container is for vegetables (makes sense, right?).  The foods I bought from this category are:  Baby spinach, Brussel sprouts, broccoli, asparagus, carrots, cucumbers and celery. There are simply the foods I chose that I currently like to eat. Purple is for Fruits.  I chose blueberries, strawberries, grapefruit, cherries (dried), kiwi and bananas. Red is Protein.  I chose boneless skinless chicken, ground turkey, tilapia, eggs, plain yogurt, Chobani yogurt (strawberry, blueberry and peach – this is a personal alteration), tuna and canned chicken. Yellow is your starches.  I chose sweet potatoes, quinoa, black beans, refried beans, brown rice, corn, bagel (flat bagel thins) and tortillas (mine are spinach and herb). For Blue I have avocado, almonds, hummus (roasted red pepper), feta cheese, swiss cheese and shredded Parmesan cheese. Orange is basically your dressings.  I am strictly using raspberry vinaigrette.  This is my own personal alteration. Teaspoon items are your oils and butters.  I am using coconut oil, extra virgin olive oil and Nutella. During this 21-Day Fix, your containers are supposed to be divided among 3 meals and 3 snacks throughout the day (I think the idea is to eat something every 2 to 3 hours).  You are only supposed to drink water.  But you can exchange items in certain categories for other beverages or treats.  I am going to do my absolute best to ONLY drink water, but I make no promises.  As far as the treats I bought tortilla chips (blue ones) and dark chocolate Hershey kisses (cause in my mind they are just giant chocolate chips). Here goes nothing…………………..

Leave a Reply

