2012 Presidential Election

I didn’t vote. Voting is a right and I have the right to choose not too. I also don’t complain about who gets elected. I honestly don’t care who gets elected. From an early age I have always hated politicians. I think it comes from Ronald Reagan interrupting my TV shows on every channel when I was little. But whatever the reason I hate them all. I hate all the slanderous television commercials. I hate the ridiculous conversations between uneducated voters on Facebook and Twitter. I was so glad when Tuesday arrived so that the election would finally be over……………….

Only it wasn’t over! The minute Obama started to take the lead, my news feed on Facebook started to be overrun with hatred. Not just disappointment but absolute hatred and ignorance. What’s worse is that all day long these same people were all over Facebook telling everyone to go vote. Now they are griping and upset about the Electoral College and how they were furious with the United States for making such a stupid decision. One person on my page went on a rampage cussing everyone out and dropping F-bombs over and over. He is a very educated person with a great job and an upstanding citizen, and I was embarrassed to know him. Another friend made a statement about hating the Electoral College because he was tired of “urban liberals and Latinos” deciding who will become president. I just feel like there is so much ignorance in that statement. I felt like they were saying “get out and vote but only if you vote like me”. How is that a democracy?? At that particular point in time, Obama was leading in the Electoral votes but Romney was leading in the popular vote. By the time it was all said and done Obama had won the election to become the 44th President of the United States of America by both electoral votes AND popular votes. I didn’t know a lot about it so I did some research and found out that only four times in history has the person who won the election lost the popular vote. Four times in all of history. 1824, 1876, 1888 and then 2000. So only one time in our lifetime has this happened. I don’t agree that one state’s votes mean more than another, but the reality is that the Electoral College has not made that much difference in the outcome.

Now, I will say that I have not researched either candidate but I have listened to a lot of what people have had to say about both candidates. Basically for me what it came down to is that as a middle class citizen I couldn’t afford to have Romney become president. I am not part of the 1%. The end. But, remember I did not vote. My opinion is just that….an opinion. I feel like America is moving in a direction where everyone is being accepted for who they are. With Maine and Maryland voting for marriage equality, Washington and Colorado legalizing recreational marijuana and Wisconsin electing an openly gay lesbian to the Senate I think voters are speaking out. This country needs change. People need to be more open minded and accepting. Do your thing and let everyone else do theirs.

It seemed that the majority of Christians were backing Romney based on the fact that he wanted to overturn Roe v. Wade and didn’t believe in gay marriage. Romney doesn’t even believe in God. Our country would be taking a huge step backward if Roe v. Wade was overturned. Do people really want to go back to the days where women were dying in back alleys from botched abortions? Making them illegal isn’t going to stop people from getting them. Not to mention how many more teenage mothers and unwanted pregnancies there would be. But the reality is, it would be almost impossible to overturn something like that. The president cannot just come in and make changes like that. All of his decisions have to go through Congress. Politicians and elected officials need to focus on the real issues. I can’t make decisions for anyone else and the President shouldn’t make personal decisions for anyone else either. It does not matter whether you are pro-life or pro-choice. Be whatever you want to be. Don’t believe in abortion? Don’t get one. But don’t try to tell someone else what they can or can’t do with their own bodies. The government has no business making those kinds of decisions.

Gay Marriage. Gay, straight, lesbian, bisexual. They are all human. They deserve to love and be loved. Some of the most successful relationships I know are between gays or lesbians. Two men and two women can also make excellent parents. Two parents are always better than one, which happens frequently in our country. We have a lot of single mothers/fathers as well as teen mothers/fathers. A successfully employed gay/lesbian couple have the resources to give a child a life just as good if not better than a single parent or teen parent. But again, this comes down to the fact that they deserve the same rights as we do. Whether you agree with their lifestyle or not, they deserve to be treated like human beings. It wasn’t all that long ago that interracial marriages were against the law too. Just let people be and love them for who they are!! I am a Christian and what I learned in church was to love everyone and treat others the way you want to be treated. There has not been much love going on from what I’ve seen, that’s for sure. Christians are usually the first to say it is “sick” or “immoral” or it goes against God or (my personal favorite) they made this choice, they weren’t born that way. OH REALLY??? As far as sick and immoral, I am sure those people have some skeletons in their closet too. As far as being immoral and against God, well their relationship with God is none of your business. You are judging them and I’m pretty sure that’s against God too. Sin is sin, isn’t that right? But as far as whether they are born gay or it is a conscious decision they made, here’s what it comes down to. I didn’t wake up one morning, look in the mirror and decide to be straight. It is just who I always was. Just like I have blonde hair and hazel eyes. Just like I have a tiny birthmark on the back of my neck. It is just part of who I am . Not only did a gay/lesbian person wake up one day and decided to be gay, if it were a choice it would be something people could turn on and off. If you are one of those who honestly believe it is a choice, why don’t you pick a day (tomorrow would be good) and choose to be gay, just for a day. YOU CAN’T DO IT! What more proof do you need?

I don’t know a lot about the whole higher taxes. But I know there was a lot of “why should I work for something just to give it to someone else” kinds of comments. Well here’s my thought on that – you should be taxed to help people in need. I don’t mind paying higher taxes to support the less fortunate. I believe that is what a good person does. I have been a single mother who needed government assistance and I have also been in a position that I have been able to help others in need. If I can help someone out, I will. That is just the kind of person I am. If I have something you need and I can, I will loan it to you. If you need a place to stay, I have an extra couch. Need to go somewhere and don’t have a car? I will take you. I have been fortunate enough to have friends and family who have helped me out and given me a step up when I’ve needed it and the only way I know to show how much that meant to me is to pay it forward. Helping another friend, or even stranger, in need is just the Christian thing to do and makes you look like a very good person. That is what Jesus would have done. Plus, on a side note, remember that Romney has put has hidden millions outside of the US to avoid paying taxes like a “common man”. Christian or not, just ask yourself if the decisions you make help to make you a better person or are you just out for yourself?

In all of the bashing, I saw comments that were just so completely ridiculous that I had no words. Did you know that if you voted for Obama you are lazy and only looking for a handout, or you are a single woman who is looking for a way to sleep with multiple partners while the government pays for it? I mean seriously?!?!? Do people really believe the things they are spewing out of their mouths? I have friends that voted on both sides of the ballot. The majority of my friends are employed, married and educated. Some have children and some don’t. But none of them are lazy sluts who just want to live off the government and pop out babies they can’t support. Ignorance!

So, in summary I believe there should be separation of church and state. I believe government should stick to the real issues regarding policy if they want to see changes made. I am pro-choice. I support gay marriage. I have never registered to vote therefore I do not identify with either the Republican party nor the Democratic party. I did not vote in this election, but I do believe the better man won. However, in all honestly I feel like we were choosing between the lesser of two evils.

I am sure I have offended people with this post, and for that I apologize, but my hope for this country is that we can find a way to be more open minded and accepting of differences. United we stand, Divided we fall. I am proud to be an American, are you?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 thoughts on “2012 Presidential Election

Leave a Reply

