The Peanut Butter Punishment

Have you ever been so fed up with your child’s behavior that you are literally fed up? You’ve tried everything and nothing seems to work? Well then you understand where I was that day.

Tweenie (in 1st grade at the time) had been in trouble practically every day that school year for talking and/or not staying in her seat (not that she takes after me in any of those behaviors, mind you). The teacher would stamp a color in each student’s agenda at the end of the day to communicate the child’s behavior that day. Green = Good, Yellow = Some minor problems, Red = Multiple issues. My daughter was on “red” basically every single day. I had tried every punishment I could think of….time out, early bedtime, no dessert, no TV, taken away toys….nothing was working, she was still getting red dots.

So, I got creative. She HATED peanut butter. Ever since the first time she tried Reese Pieces around age 3, she has hated peanut butter. So I told her the next time she was on red for talking she was going to have to eat a spoonful of peanut butter, thinking surely that would deter her.

Needless to say, the following day she came home with another red dot. True to my promise (while she was kicking and screaming) I made her eat a spoonful of peanut butter then sent her into her room to do her math homework. The sobs and boo-hoos persisted for the next 10-15 minutes.

Little Tweenie: Mom, my throat hurts.
Me: Of course it does, you won’t stop crying. I’ll get you some water. Now stop crying so you can get your math homework done.
Me: Here, come get this water so you will calm down.

When she walked into the living room, the first thing I noticed was how red her face was from crying. Then I realized her face was puffy and swollen. “Are you having trouble swallowing?”, I asked, to which she replied “yes”.

Oh crap!! My daughter has a peanut allergy and I have just given her peanut butter!!!!

A dose of Benadryl and out the door we went to the Emergency Room. I am sure the doctors there definitely thought I deserved votes for Mother of the Year!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “The Peanut Butter Punishment

  1. This really made me laugh and sympathize! I can just picture how you felt in that moment from the frustration of not being able to make her behave and right down to the guilt you probably felt when you realized she was allergic! Desperate times!

Leave a Reply

